.

Rockland Reacts to Armstrong Drug Confession

Rockland County residents and business owners react to the admission by seven-time Tour de France winner Lance Armstrong that he used illegal performance-enhancing drugs.

After years of denials, seven-time Tour de France winner Lance Armstrong admitted to using illegal performance-enhancing drugs during his cycling career earlier this week.

The admission drew a mixed reaction in Rockland County.

"A lot of people were closely connected that sport and know of Armstrong," said Nanuet resident Jamie Kempton, President of the Rockland County Road Runners. "The people I spoke to and myself, there was a trust broken there. I don't think it can be repaired. All this time, he'd been saying, 'I didn't do drugs. I achieved those seven victories the clean way. Now to acknowledge this, his credibility took a real hit.

"Here's a fellow who based his life story on the fact that he had gotten cancer and he overcame it to become a champion cyclist. In hindsight it was a fraud. He didn't achieve it by legal means."

Rob Ohnikian, owner of Bicycle Depot in Pearl River, said the story is less of a conversation starter now than it would have been in the warmer months in his store.

"It was talked about during the summer and fall," Ohnikian said. "He put road bike racing back on the map. You see everybody road cycling. The Tour de France wins did that. It's a shame. My opinion is if everyone is doing it, he's doing to do it to level the playing field. It's a sign of today's times."

Ohnikian and Albert Marrero of Congers Bike Shop, said they do not expect the news to have an impact on their business.

"My business was affected when he was riding and winning," Ohnikian said. "I don't know if there will be any negative effects now.

“The Lance Armstrong situation hasn’t affected my business, but the he’s affected his sponsors and the people who invested in him,” said Marrero, referring to merchandise that Armstrong has branded over the years. “It was a tragedy, but it’s been dragged out for too long. Leave him alone, he’s confessed now. I think he should be fined, but not jailed. Let him live his life. He can’t bike anymore and that’s what he loved. He’s heartbroken. His name is ruined and he’ll have to live with this for the rest of his life. Isn’t that punishment enough? He needs credit for all the good he’s done for cancer.”

Dave Nazaroff, owner of Toga Bike Shop in Nyack, said the news was not a big surprise to those who had been following Armstrong's story.

“Lance doesn’t affect people riding bikes. People are obviously disappointed with what he had to say, but it wasn’t a shock to everybody. Anyone who is serious about cycling and rides a lot and follows the Lance Armstrong situation is not (surprised). I hope people still donate to the cause against cancer (Livestrong).

“It’s much bigger than Lance. He didn’t start it and he won’t end it, drugs and sports. It was just the culture of cycling at the time,” said Nazaroff, referring to other sports with similar issues, such as baseball. “It’s nothing compared to society and other issues. This is a big story and makes news headlines. But as far as cycling, hopefully it’ll make the sport cleaner.”

Kempton said Armstrong provided a boost to endurance sports in general, not just cycling, but the impact of his PED use can't be anything but negative. 

"He was a towering figure. He went above the sport of cycling," Kempton said. "That was then and this is now. There is a saying that any recognition is good recognition. In this case, it is just so overwhelmingly negative."

Tyler Durden January 19, 2013 at 12:37 PM
I can't believe anyone would look up to a man that rides a bicycle to begin with. Really? Go to China, they're all over the place.
Tony T January 19, 2013 at 12:42 PM
Why no article on the near riot at Lake Nanuet?
Mike January 19, 2013 at 01:14 PM
In reality, there are very, very few sports, movie, or pop stars that truly deserve to be "idolized". The vast majority of them are self-centered, spoiled, and focused only on themselves obtaining more money and fame. They are classic narcissist. Yet our culture and MSM keeps them in the spot light and the message to our young people is the be just like these so called stars.
Robert Guttman January 19, 2013 at 01:54 PM
Yesterday I heard one TV commentator bemoaning the fact that today's sports heroes are less honest than sports heroes of the past. I couldn't help finding that assertion amusing, because it put me in mind of "Champion", the famous short story by Ring Lardner, which became a major motion picture. Many may recall that "Champion" was about a boxing hero who, despite his "Mr. Clean" image, was actually a complete swine in every way. The movie version dated from the early 1950s, but the original story was written way back in 1916, almost a century ago. The author, Ring Lardner, began his career as a newspaper sports writer, so there is little doubt that, despite the fact that the character in "Champion" may have been fictitious, Lardner undoubtedly knew athletes like him. Consequently, it shouldn't come as any great surprise to learn that an athlete turns out to have feet of clay today, because obviously it is nothing new.
Gregg January 19, 2013 at 04:49 PM
Maybe because no one cares?
PWT January 19, 2013 at 05:16 PM
Wow! What an important moment...After years of investigation by US government agencies - at a cost of somewhere between 20 and 50 million - Lance comes clean! The only problem is I do not see how this benefits me as an American. I don't care what he did ten years ago in France. I don't even care what Bobby Bonds did here. What I wonder about is why the government does not go after the real criminals. Spitzer did not go to jail for a day. Cuomo, who as Attorney General repeatedly used his office for criminal purposes has not been brought to justice.
Ryan Buncher (Editor) January 19, 2013 at 06:15 PM
There is one. Tony. Here is the link. http://pearlriver.patch.com/articles/six-new-city-and-congers-teens-arrested-after-brawl-at-lake-nanuet
Tim Bartz January 19, 2013 at 06:15 PM
Robert G is right. When professional golf began in the US, pro golfers were a notoriously sketchy lot. So much so that they weren't even allowed in the club house or dining room of the country clubs where tournaments were held. Likewise, baseball players were for the most part a rowdy crowd, including Babe Ruth. The question then isn't "when will we stop lionizing professional athletes." It's "when did we start?"
Laurence Voss January 19, 2013 at 07:00 PM
The money has driven most, if not all, professional athletes to hone that competitive edge with pharmaceutical enhancements without which they will lose that big money contract. It is hardly a new concept. In baseball, there was no club house that did not feature a big bowl of greenies to keep everybody alive and champing at the bit and I assume that other sports followed that example. Sports are no different than professional politics for that matter. In each case, money determines the actions taken. Not integrity, ethics, or common sense.
elizabeth January 19, 2013 at 11:45 PM
I still think Lance is a "superhuman," with or without the drugs! How many people could have accomplished what he's accomplished, even if they took steroids every day! Think about it: one day he's on his deathbed, and soon after wins the "Tour de France!" I sense a little "green eyed monster" out there in media land!
Chris January 20, 2013 at 12:31 AM
Sheryl Crowe dumped him and he only has one testicle. Now he is admitting to cheating. three strikes.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something