Pearl River's Rho Kappa Inducts New Members

The Pearl River High School chapter of the Rho Kappa Social Studies Honor Society inducted new members at a ceremony in the high school auditorium Tuesday night.

Orangetown Town Justice Patrick Loftus spoke to assembled students, parents and staff at Pearl River High School's Rho Kappa Honor Society Induction Ceremony Tueday in the auditorium.

The Pearl River resident congratulated the new members of the honor society, which recognizes academic achievement in social studies, and talked about the Pearl River chapter's focus on service to the community.

Loftus told part of the story of Joshua Chamberlain, who was an established success in the academic world before volunteering to fight for the North in the Civil War, going on to lead his men to a key victory during the Battle of Gettysburg. He shared a letter written by Chamberlain, saying he hoped it would inspire the students as it inspred him.

"I fear this war, so costly of blood and treasure, will not cease until men of the North are willing to lave good positions and sacrifice dearest personal interests to rescue our country from desolation and defend thenational interest against treachery."

Rho Kappa Vice President Jessica Mayernik provided the opening remarks. Rho Kappa Secretary William Lutz, Treasurer Erin Shortell and Historian Stacey Wang performed the traditional candle lightings and Shortell led the induction pledge. 

The following Rho Kappa members were recognized Tuesday:


  • John Beckerle
  • Connor Neeck


  • Samantha Alicandri
  • Brian Berwick
  • Julianne Bodnar
  • Aileen Burke
  • Patricia Camarda
  • Conor Campbell
  • Gabrielle Capello
  • MaryAnn Coleman
  • Kevin Considine
  • Christopher Coughlan
  • Kasey Curran
  • Ronan Curry
  • Zachary Daly
  • Alanah D'Arcy
  • Danielle DeCourcey
  • Katherine DiLorenzo
  • Matthew DiLorenzo
  • Reese Donahue
  • James Duggan
  • Tara Dulak
  • Jenna Fabio
  • Colleen Fenlon
  • Christopher Flood
  • Thomas Ferriello
  • Timothy Fusco
  • Brianne Garvey
  • Kathleen Gleeson
  • Jessica Glielmi
  • John Glielmi
  • Patrick Guerin
  • Bianca Guerrero
  • Robert Gullo
  • Bridget Gunn
  • Michael Haddican
  • Thomas Harris
  • Gary Healy
  • Liam Higgins
  • Brandon Ilie
  • Yasmine Issah
  • John Judge
  • Juhee Kang
  • Caroline Kardashian
  • Ian Kelly
  • Brendan Kenny
  • Matthew Klein
  • Brian Maher
  • Sabrina Marchese
  • Dylan Markowitz
  • Cara Martin
  • Kevin Mathai
  • Christine Mazzocchi
  • Amanda McCarthy
  • Emily McCarthy
  • Liam McGarry
  • Logan McIntyre
  • Kevin McKenna
  • Frank Meyer
  • Lea Miller
  • Peter Moreau
  • Allison Mostecak
  • Danielle Muchoe
  • Alexa Murphy
  • Martina Murphy
  • Jessica Neugebauer
  • Aidan Noonan
  • Connor Ocasal
  • Sean O'Connor
  • Deirdre O'Malley
  • Kaitlin O'Riordan
  • Brandon Ortega
  • Niamh O'Sullivan
  • Paul Owens
  • Kevin Parnow
  • Matthew Perez
  • Christopher Prigge
  • Taylor Rudloff
  • Patrick Scanlon
  • John Schwarz
  • Courtney Shum
  • Bridget Sorohan
  • Dion Sorrentino
  • James Stephen
  • Maria Stokes
  • Michael Sweeney
  • Patricia Thornton
  • Christopher Twist
  • Paige Turilli
  • Shaylin Venitelli
  • Jasmine Wechsler
  • Christopher Weldon
  • Erin Woods
  • Bridgid Wynne
  • Dayanna Zambrano


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »