Tappan Zee Wins Pearl River Boys Tennis Tournament Team Title

Joe Marinucci of Albertus Magnus won the first singles title in the two-day tournament.

The Pearl River Boys Tennis Tournament featured multiple close finishes Saturday.

Tappan Zee beat out Nyack for the team championship by one game, 165-164. The team competition is determined by the total number of games won by each team. East Ramapo edged out Pearl River for third place, 153-152, with Nanuet fifth and Albertus Magnus sixth. The competition was the closest it has been in the tournament's history, with only 33 games separating first place from sixth. 

In the tournament, the each school places a competitor or team in flights for first through third singles and first through fourth doubles. Each competitor or doubles team faces a representative of every other school in one game. The player or team with the most victories wins the flight.

Joe Marinucci of Albertus Magnus won first singles. Dwayne Gentle of East Ramapo tied Mike Mihovics of Albertus for the most victories at second singles, so the champion was decided by the tiebreaker. Gentle defeated Mihovics head-to-head.

The team of Matt Uhl and Mike Villamor of Tappan Zee won the championship at first singles. 

The top three finishers in each flight earned medals. 

Medal Winnes:

1st Singles: 1st place - Joe Marinucci - Albertus Magnus
                  2nd place - Lorenzo Ramos - Nyack                
                  3rd place - Kyle Castorico - East Ramapo  

2nd Singles: 1st place - Dwane Gentle - East Ramapo                
                   2nd place - Mike Mihovics - Albertus Magnus
                   3rd place - Brian Kang - Tappan Zee  

3rd Singles: 1st place - Deon Gentle - East Ramapo                 
                   2nd place - Jack Hazen - Nyack                   
                   3rd place - Daniel Chen - Albertus Magnus  

1st Doubles: 1st place - Matt Uhl/Mike Villamor - Tappan Zee           
                   2nd place - Brendan McIntyre/Jared Schlosser - Pearl River  
                   3rd place - Mike Flanagan/Brian Schairer - Nanuet    

2nd Doubles: 1st place - Patrick O'Hara/Ryan Stavella - Nanuet
                    2nd place - James Huber/Ryan Smith - Albertus Magnus
                    3rd place - Milo Fradianni/Eric Soeder - Nyack  

3rd Doubles: 1st place - Calvin Hutchins/Sebastian Jakymiw  - Nyack                     2nd place - Jason Isaacs/Hyo Jeong - Tappan Zee
                    3rd place - Garvin Lee/Kevin Parakkattu - Pearl River    

4th Doubles: 1st place - Billy Thompson/Shea Lombarto - Nanuet
                    2nd place - Andrew Potocki/Max Kaplan - Tappan Zee
                    3rd place - Tim Fjermestad/Christo Varghese - Pearl River    

Team scores: 1. Tappan Zee 165 games won; 2. Nyack 164; 3. East Ramapo 153; 4. Pearl River 152; 5. Nanuet 134; Albertus Magnus 132


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »